Munchpak Mini Review & Taste Test!

Like almost everyone else in the world, I am a big fan of food. So when Munchpak offered to send me one of their Mini boxes to do a review on I was extremely excited. I have seen many videos of people unboxing Munchpak boxes and they always seem super interesting so I really wanted to get one for myself. The Mini box is $14.95 (lower price if you do a 3, 6, or year long package) and comes with 5+ snacks from all over the world. There is also the Original Box ($24.95 for one time and 10+ snacks) and the FamilyPak ($44.95 for one time and 20+ snacks).

What I also love about this subscription is that it gives you to the opportunity to mark what kinds of foods you like and dislike so hopefully you never get something you really hate. Take into consideration that each preference costs $1 more though. There is also the option to add a coffee or tea drink for $5. Of course you do not have to choose these extra items, but if you are particularly picky about some things, spending an extra dollar to make sure you’re satisfied may not be a bad idea.

dsc00472

Kaleb and I actually filmed an Unboxing and Taste Test video to this box (which also explains why in the pictures below all the food is half eaten already), so if you prefer watching videos or want to see my initial first reactions, here is the link: Munchpak Mini Unboxing & Taste Test

dsc00474

The first snacks we pulled out of the box were these Cheetos from Mexico. They are small nacho cheese Cheeto puff balls and boyyyy are they good. They have a bit of a kick to them and remind me a lot of the Salsa Verde Doritos. When Kaleb and I were trying these I kept saying it reminded me of something, but I couldn’t quite pin point what it was. Well, I remembereddd!  If you saw my last post then you’ll know I went to Mexico almost a year ago.While I was there I had a ton of travel packs of Doritos because they were super cheap and delicious. I remember thinking while I was there that it was strange the nacho cheese Doritos had such a kick to them, but now that I have also tried the Cheetos I’m assuming that is just how nacho cheese flavoring is in Mexico. Plus, I feel it’s important to add I’m just a little white woman who thinks anything  that says “mild” is too spicy. These were absolutely amazing though and had a little kick without burning my mouth. So flavorful and great.dsc00481

Zydo wafer cakes are from Bulgaria which I was super excited about because I’ve never had anything from Eastern Europe. This peanut wafer cafe was a double layered wafer with a peanut topping all dipped in chocolate. It was not as sweet and flavorful as I imagined it would be when I first pulled it out, but I’m also probably just used to the States putting too much sugar in everything. You could taste the natural flavor of the peanuts and crunch of the wafer. It was refreshing and doesn’t make you feel bloated or heavy at all. It’s honestly a perfect little dessert snack.dsc00482Oh boy. This guy was a fail for us! This is a matcha, mochi, and chocolate little snack pack. I feel like I cannot give a full and great review on this because Kaleb and I completely messed it up. We didn’t know you’re supposed to put water on the little white mochi. We jut ate them in all their chewy goodness with chocolate and matcha. It was terrible. I feel like I can’t properly give this a thumbs up or thumbs down since I didn’t eat it as intended, but I will say that the chocolate tasted fake and plastic like and the matcha powder was delicious. Overall it was fun to play and experiment with. And now Kaleb and I know to add water to mochi. Lessons learned everywhere you go!dsc00475

This little strawberry flavored wafer from Taiwan was great! It was not sweet like you’d think it would be, but instead offered a subtle and very real strawberry flavor. It wasn’t in your face like almost all American candy is. It was refreshing and light, just what I look for in a wafer treat. Taiwan is a place Kaleb and I really want to visit too so we were super excited to get to try a sample of their food.

dsc00477

The stroopwafel!!!! This was definitely my favorite treat in the entire box. This is a Swoffle stroopwafel from Canada. Kaleb had had these before, but I had never had one so I was extremely excited. Kalel, one of my favorite bloggers, mentioned in one of her posts that these were the things she was most scared of giving up when she chose to go vegan. I happened to read that post the day before I received this box, so out of odd coincidence, I knew what a stroopwafel was. I honestly have difficulty even trying to explain how these taste. I asked Kaleb how he would describe it and he just said, “Fucking delicious.” So there you have it, folks. Fucking delicious is the best way. Try these if you can and by that I mean go to the store right now and get them. I know for a fact Trader Joe’s carries them, but I’m sure you could find them almost anywhere. These go so well with hot chocolate and coffee and I just can’t recommend them enough.

Overall, I’m in love with Munchpak! I think it’s such a fun and easy way to enjoy treats from around the world that you would never have the opportunity to otherwise. I definitely recommend you scout them out and see if the box would be something you’d want to try. And finallyyyyy, I’d like to thank Munchpak again for sending this to me! You guys are amazing!!

dsc00479

Leave a Reply

